Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
JACKSON, Jesse L., Jr. (1965-)

JACKSON, JESSE L., JR., a Representative from Illinois; born in Greenville, Pickens County, S.C., March 11, 1965; B.S., North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University, Greensboro, N.C., 1987; M.A., Chicago Theological Seminary, Chicago, Ill., 1989; J.D., University of Illinois College of Law, Chicago, Ill., 1993; secretary, Democratic National Committee's Black Caucus; national field director, National Rainbow Coalition, 1993-1995; member, Rainbow/PUSH Coalition; elected as a Democrat to the One Hundred Fourth Congress, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of United States Representative Mel Reynolds, reelected to the eight succeeding Congresses until his resignation on November 21, 2012 (December 12, 1995-November 21, 2012); elected to the One Hundred Thirteenth Congress, but declined his seat.

The HistoryMakers
Chicago, IL
Oral history: 2000, three 30 minute Betacam SP videocassettes.
An oral history interview of Jesse Jackson, Jr. conducted on May 12, 2000.

University of Texas San Antonio
Archives and Special Collections Department
San Antonio, TX
Papers: In the records of the Texas Chapter of the National Organization for Women, 29 linear feet.
Subjects include Jesse Jackson Promise Keeps.

  • Jackson, Jesse L., Sr., and Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., with Mary Gotschall. It's About the Money!: The Fourth Movement of the Freedom Symphony: How to Build Wealth, Get Access to Capital and Achieve your Financial Dreams. New York: Times Business, 1999.
  • Jackson, Jesse L., Sr., Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., and Bruce Shapiro. Legal Lynching: The Death Penalty and America's Future. New York: New Press, 2001.
  • Jackson, Jesse, Sr. with Jesse Jackson, Jr. Legal Lynching: Racism, Injustice and the Death Penalty. New York: Marlowe & Co., 1996.
  • "Jesse Jackson, Jr." in Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007. Prepared under the direction of the Committee on House Administration by the Office of History & Preservation, U. S. House of Representatives. Washington: Government Printing Office, 2008.